Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) Dallas
The Traylor Law Firm has more than 20 years of experience handling Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) cases. The state of Texas takes DWI’s very seriously, and the penalties reflect that. As soon as you are charged with a DWI, it is important to hire a lawyer. The clock is ticking on your case and an experienced lawyer will know how to protect you. You should speak to a lawyer within the first two days after your arrest and should try to have one hired within the first week. This is critical as your right to contest a license suspension hearing often expires 15 days from the date of your DWI arrest.
What are the consequences for Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) in Texas?
Being charged for Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) can have serious implications and damage to your life as you know it. If you have been charged with DWI, you should consult with a Driving While Intoxicated Attorney to assist you through the court process. Driving While Intoxicated Law allows for a wide range of penalties, and a lawyer can help minimize those penalties.
A first DWI conviction can yield a variety of consequences that include jail time, community service, probation, license suspension, etc. It is usually considered a Class B Misdemeanor, calling for up to 6 months in jail, up to $2,000 in fines and required community service ranging between 24-100 hours. There are surcharge fees that the convicted will be required to pay. They range between $1,000-$2,000.
If you receive community service or probation, you will be required to be evaluated to find out if you have a problem with drug or alcohol abuse. If you are found to have a drug or alcohol problem, then you could be required to attend drug or alcohol treatment. You will also be required to find employment, live in the same residence, and report regularly to the supervision office in order to pay fines. Any changes in employment or residence must be reported to the supervision office.
If you commit any subsequent crimes, you will face revocation of your probation and jail time. It is also a possibility that you might have to install an interlock ignition device on your car. This DWI Penalty will require you to breathe into the machine and will not allow the car to start if you have been drinking.
If you have been convicted of previous drug or alcohol offenses, your consequences will be worse. It could possibly become a Class A misdemeanor or a felony. If your blood alcohol level is greater than .15, you will be charged with a Class A misdemeanor. An experienced DWI Lawyer will assist you in mitigating consequences as much as possible.
A second Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) offense will carry much more serious penalties. It is a Class A Misdemeanor, and the offender could possibly receive up to one year in jail and a fine up to $6,000, with no less than 80 hours, but no more than 200 hours of community service assigned. Your driver’s license can be suspended for at least 180 days, but not more than two years. In addition, a deep lung air device might be ordered to be installed in your car.
If you are convicted of a third DWI in Texas, it will be considered a third-degree felony. It carries a prison sentence of no less than two years but no more than ten years. If you qualify for a probated sentence or probation, it must be offered to you as part of a plea bargain by the prosecutor. You could be required to attend substance abuse counseling, up to 600 community service hours, and participate in DWI intervention programs.
For a third DWI conviction in the state of Texas, you might also be ordered to pay fines up to $10,000. This fine does not include court costs, counseling fees, interlock device costs, etc. There will also be a two-year suspension of your driver’s license. Once your license suspension has ended, the court will require that you have the ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle. You will also need to pay fee to have your license reinstated. That fee is $2,000 per year for three years.
If you are convicted of a third DWI offense, there are additional costs outside of those listed in the statute itself. Those consequences include:
- Loss of a job
- Inability to find housing
- Losing your voting rights
- Losing the right to own a firearm
- Possibility of losing your professional license
- Unable to receive some government benefits
These consequences can negatively impact your life for the rest of your life. In order to mitigate your consequences as much as possible, contact a DWI Lawyer In Texas as soon as possible. Call the best DWI Law Firm in Dallas, Traylor Law Firm. Call 214-382-0900 for a consultation.
The Traylor Law Firm handles DWI cases and most other felonies and misdemeanors as well. We also help with missed court dates and probation cases. Because we want the very best result, we’ll take time to listen to you. We’ll tailor our handling of your case to your specific situation. We’ll work on your case together.
Warrants? If you’ve missed court on your DWI case, call us. We can help turn things around and get your case back into court. We want to keep you out of jail and we know how to do it.
Court date? Call us. For DWI cases, it’s best to get help right away. And we may be able to go to court for you. As much as possible, we don’t want you missing work.
Probation trouble? Call us. These cases often aren’t as bad as they seem. It’s almost always better to fix them now. There’s usually something we can do. We’ll work with the court to get your case discharged or get you back on good terms.
Someone in jail? Call us. We want them out. If the bond’s too high, we’ll try to lower it. Or, we can help while they’re still in jail. We do face to face jail visits. We want our clients to know what’s going on with their cases. We want them to feel good about having us.
Call your Dallas Criminal Defense Lawyer today at 214-382-0900.