What Are The Penalties For Family Violence In Texas?

Since the severity of family violence can vary widely, the penalties for an Assault Lawsuit will also vary greatly, depending on the severity of the offense and if the accused has prior offenses. For instance, domestic Assault Law state that it might be either a misdemeanor or a felony. If you have questions, contact a Family Assault Lawyer.

  • Misdemeanor – When the domestic assault involves threats of harm or offensive contact, it is a Class C misdemeanor. It carries a penalty of up to $500. If there is bodily injury to the victim involved, the act increases to a Class A misdemeanor. At that point, the offender might receive up to one year in jail and a $4,000 fine.
  • Felony – If the defendant has any prior domestic assault convictions and the victim sustains an injury or if the current offense involved strangulation or suffocation, then the assault becomes a third-degree felony. If convicted, the offender might receive two to ten years in prison and a $10,000 fine.

What Are The Penalties For Other Family Violence Convictions?

Since there are a wide range of family violence offenses, each will carry its own consequences according to severity of the charge under the law.

Aggravated Domestic Assault – If the offender uses a deadly weapon and causes serious bodily injury to the victim, it is considered a first-degree felony. If convicted, it could mean five to 99 years or life in prison and a $10,000 fine. Other aggravated domestic assault is a second-degree felony. The convicted could face two to 20 years in prison and a $10,000 fine.

Continuous Violence Against The Family – If convicted, it is a third-degree felony. It also might subject the convicted to two to ten years in prison and a $10,000 fine.

Violation Of A Family Protective Order – This is. Class A Misdemeanor. It can result in up to one year in jail and a $4,000 fine. If the offender has two or more convictions of violating a family protective order, the offense could become a third-degree felony. If there is continuous repetition of violating a family protective order within a 12-month period, the offense is a third-degree felony that requires two to ten years in prison and a $10,000 fine.

An experienced Assault Injury Lawyer can explain in more detail.

What Other Restrictions Are There Involving Family Violence?

Beyond jail/prison time and fines, Texas law enforces the following for certain family violence cases.

  • Arrest – If police officers have probable cause to believe someone committed a family violence crime, that person can be arrested without a warrant.
  • Bail And Bond Conditions – If released on bail or bond, the defendant is usually ordered to have no contact with the victim. In some cases, the judge might issue an order of emergency protection for the victim. If the bond conditions are violated in any way, the judge can revoke bail.
  • Firearms Restrictions – If a person is convicted of family violence, then they lose the right to possess firearms.

If you have been accused of or charged with a family violence crime, the first thing you should do is contact a Domestic Assault Attorney from Traylor Law Firm to help mitigate your consequences. If you live in or near Dallas, TX, call (214) 382-0900 for a free consultation.

Call 214-382-0900 24 hours.

Dallas Traffic Tickets Lawyer Dallas Traffic Tickets Business Card